2011 Honorees


National Building Museum
March 6, 2012
401 F Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001

View video highlights of the 2011 Capital Awards—including speeches from all honorees and special guests—here!

The NCLR Capital Awards is an annual gala event that brings together more than 750 elected and appointed officials, Hispanic leaders, community activists, executives from Fortune 500 companies, philanthropic leaders, and scholars to recognize Democratic and Republican members of Congress who have shown a consistent commitment to promoting legislation and public policies that benefit Hispanic Americans in their districts and throughout the country.

Hundreds of Hispanic leaders, government officials, and community activists were in attendance as NCLR President and CEO Janet Murguía presented the awards to the 2011 recipients, Representatives Barney Frank (D–MA) and Mario Diaz-Balart (R–FL). The celebration also recognized the Grammy Award–winning multicultural fusion band Ozomatli with the 2011 Public Service Award for its relentless efforts advocating on behalf of the Latino community and participating in humanitarian outreach across the globe.

The only Hispanic event that recognizes politicians from both sides of the aisle, the NCLR Capital Awards has previously paid tribute to the late Senator Edward M. Kennedy (D-MA), Representative John Boehner (R–OH), and Representative Nancy Pelosi (D–CA).

Past Awardees - 2011


              Congressman Barney Frank                                      Congressman Mario Diaz-Balart
                              (D–MA)                                                                                (R–FL)



Interested in demonstrating your support for the Hispanic American community? Contact the Sponsorships team at sponsorships@nclr.org or click here to access the 2012 NCLR Capital Awards Sponsorship kit.

To view highlights from the 2011 NCLR Capital Awards, please click here.

In 2010, NCLR proudly honored U.S. Senator Harry Reid (D–NV) and U.S. Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R–FL) for their support of and commitment to policy issues critical to Hispanic Americans. NCLR also presented the Capital Award for Public Service to Beverly Robertson, President of the National Civil Rights Museum.

Click here for a full description of this event and a listing of past honorees.

  • NCLR Action Center
  • The Six Practices of High-Impact Nonprofits
  • The Truth About NCLR
  • NCLR Blog