Testimony


Testimony

Housing Finance Reform and the Consumer Experience

Lautaro Lot Diaz, (October 29, 2013)

Publication Type: Testimony

For more than two decades, NCLR has actively engaged in public policy issues such as preserving and strengthening the Community Reinvestment Act and the Home Ownership Equity Protection Act, supporting strong fair housing and fair lending laws, increasing access to financial services for low-income families, and promoting homeownership in the Latino community. Read More

  • Preview
  • Download

The FHA Solvency Act of 2013

Enrique Lopezlira, (July 31, 2013)

Issue: Housing
Publication Type: Testimony

Statement for the Record to the US Senate Committee on Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs Read More

  • Preview
  • Download

The “Collateral” Damage of Enforcement-Only Immigration Policy

Clarissa Martinez-De-Castro, (June 13, 2013)

Issue: Immigration, Policy
Publication Type: Testimony

Testimony to the House Judiciary Committee Read More

  • Preview
  • Download

A Commonsense Solution for Immigration Reform Must be Enacted This Year

Janet Murguía, (April 22, 2013)

Issue: Immigration
Publication Type: Testimony

Janet Murguía urges Congress to move forward with Gang of Eight bill in testimony before Senate Judiciary Committee. Read More

  • Preview
  • Download

The Pathway to Full Integration and Self Sufficiency

Jennifer Ng’andu, (March 18, 2013)

Issue: Immigrant Integration
Publication Type: Testimony

Jennifer Ng'andu testifies about comprehensive immigration reform addressing the needs of women and families. Read More

  • Preview
  • Download

Strong Families:  An Economic and Social Imperative for Successful Immigration Reform

Clarissa Martínez-De-Castro, (March 14, 2013)

Issue: Immigration
Publication Type: Testimony

Clarissa Martinez-De-Castro speaks before the House Subcommittee on immigration and border security about outdated immigration laws that separate families. Read More

  • Preview
  • Download

A Common Solution for Immigration Reform Must Include a Roadmap to Citizenship

Janet Murguía, (February 13, 2013)

Issue: Immigration
Publication Type: Testimony

Janet Murguía testifies before a Senate Judiciary Committee in favor of immigration reform including a roadmap to citizenship. Read More

  • Preview
  • Download

The Impact of Dual Tracking on Communities of Color

Lautaro "Lot" Diaz, (January 28, 2013)

Issue: Housing, Foreclosure
Publication Type: Testimony

Lautaro Lot Diaz testifies before the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau about the impact of dual tracking on communities of color. Read More

  • Preview
  • Download

Statement for the Record Role of Housing Counseling in Economic Recovery

Coalition of HUD Housing Counseling Intermediaries, (September 14, 2011)

Publication Type: Testimony

In this statement, we examine effective housing counseling responses to the housing crisis, including the HUD Housing Counseling Assistance Program and the National Foreclosure Mitigation Counseling program administered by NeighborWorks, and provide specific recommendations to leverage these programs to provide further relief from the economic crisis.   Read More

  • Preview
  • Download

State for the Record HUD Intermediaries

NCLR, (September 14, 2011)

Publication Type: Testimony

In this statement, we examine effective community-based responses to the housing crisis, including the HUD Housing Counseling Assistance Program, NCLR s Homeownership Network, and the National Foreclosure Mitigation Counseling program administered by Neighborworks, and provide specific recommendations to leverage these programs to provide further relief from the economic crisis. Read More

  • Preview
  • Download

Commonsense Mortgage Origination Protections Empower Latino Homebuyers

Janis Bowdler, (July 13, 2011)

Publication Type: Testimony

Commonsense Mortgage Origination Protections Empower Latino Homebuyers, Presented at "Mortgage Origination: The Impact of Recent Changes on Homeowners and Businesses." Submitted to Subcommittee on Insurance, Housing, and Community Development U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Financial Services. Read More

  • Preview
  • Download

Improving Retirement Security for Latinos: Overview of Racial and Ethnic Disparities

Leticia Miranda, (September 1, 2010)

Issue: Economy and Workforce, Retirement Security, Social Security
Publication Type: Testimony

Presented at the ERISA Advisory Council Disparities for Women and Minorities in Retirement Read More

  • Preview
  • Download

Putting Our Communities on the Map: The Road to Economic Recovery for Latinos and Other Communities

Janet Murguía, (September 23, 2009)

Publication Type: Testimony

In my testimony today, I will discuss how the federal governments response to the economic and financial crisis has impacted Latinos.  Specifically, I will provide recommendations to improve recovery programs and put Latinos and other underserved communities back on the path to middle class security. Read More

  • Preview
  • Download

Latino Credit Card Use: Overcoming Disparities, Structural Challenges, and Harmful Industry Practice

Raul Gonzalez, (July 25, 2008)

Publication Type: Testimony

This statement will briefly outline recent data on Latino credit card use, structural barriers in credit markets, and harmful credit card industry policies and practices, and will provide recommendations to improve access to affordable credit and shift the balance of power back into the hands of consumers. Read More

  • Preview
  • Download

NCLR Comments on Credit Card Regulation

Janet Murguía, (August 04, 2008)

Issue: Financial Services
Publication Type: Testimony

In our brief comments, we will discuss the key proposals of intrest to Latino consumers and make recommendations for further action. Read More

  • Preview
  • Download

Comprehensive Immigration Reform in 2009: Can We Do It and How?

Clarissa Martinez De Castro, (June 26, 2009)

Issue: Immigration
Publication Type: Testimony

Written Statement for a Hearing on Comprehensive Immigration Reform in 2009: Can We Do It and How? Testimony Submitted to: U.S. Senate Subcommittee on Immigration, Refugees, and Border Security Read More

  • Preview
  • Download

Putting an End to Predatory Lending in Minority and Latino Communities

Graciela Aponte, (April 23, 2009)

Publication Type: Testimony

In my testimony today, I will discuss protections included in H.R. 1728 that are paramount to guarding Latino families and other underserved communities.  I will also discuss sections that need to be strengthened to ensure that lenders are effectively deterred from steering borrowers into high-cost, deceptive, and unaffordable mortgages. Read More

  • Preview
  • Download

Rethinking TARP Implementation: Strategies to Reduce Latino Foreclosures

Janet Murguía, (January 13, 2009)

Publication Type: Testimony

In my testimony today, I will provide a brief overview of the need for an effective national mortgage loss mitigation strategy and discuss how the initial TARP allocations have fallen short of the goals of the legislation.  I will conclude with a set of recommendations to ensure that the second TARP installment more fully meets the needs of the homeowners and communities impacted by foreclosures. Read More

  • Preview
  • Download

Credit-based Insurance Scoring: Why Latinos Pay More for Auto Insurance Than They Should

Eric Rodriguez, (October 24, 2008)

Publication Type: Testimony

  • Preview
  • Download

Testimonio ante el Senado de Puerto Rico

Nayda I. Rivera-Hernández, (September 11, 2008)

Issue: KIDS COUNT – Puerto Rico
Publication Type: Spanish Publications, Testimony

Este Testimonio fue sometido para récord ante la Comisión de Salud, Bienestar Social y Asuntos de la Mujer del Senado de Puerto Rico durante la Vista Pública sobre el Proyecto del Senado 2080 “Ley para la implantación de la Política Pública para la Niñez Temprana” el 8 de junio de 2007. El mismo estuvo a cargo de Nayda Rivera-Hernández, Analista Senior de Investigación del Consejo Nacional de La Raza (NCLR- PR, por sus siglas en inglés). El testimonio presenta el apoyo del NCLR al Proyecto del Senado 2080 y revela datos sobre estudios publicados por el Proyecto Nuestros niños cuentan/KIDS... Read More

  • Preview
  • Download

Page 1 of 5 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »